top of page

Vera Jane Cook

About The Author

I am an award-winning hybrid author of southern and women's Fiction, including Dancing Backward in Paradise, The Story of Sassy Sweetwater, Where the Wildflowers Grow, Pleasant Day, Marybeth, Hollister & Jane and Lies a River Deep. My newest series is The Fourniers: Book One, When Hannah Played Ragtime, Book Two, Glamor Girl. The third book in the series, The Memory of Music is due out this spring. Under my pen name Olivia Hardy Ray I have written science fiction and fantasy. My newest novel in that genre is Nobody's Road and my past titles include Annabel Horton, Lost Witch of Salem, Annable Horton and the Black Witch of Pau, and Pharaoh's Star.

The first novel I ever wrote, Dancing Backward In Paradise, won an Eric Hoffer Award for publishing excellence and an Indie Excellence Award for notable new fiction, 2007. The Story of Sassy Sweetwater and Dancing Backward in Paradise received 5 Star ForeWord Clarion Reviews and The Story of Sassy Sweetwater has been named a finalist for the ForeWord Book of the Year Awards. I have published in ESL Magazine, Christopher Street Magazine and I have also written early childhood curriculum for Weekly Reader and McGraw Hill.


Vera Jane Cook


Find me on

Exclusive Interview with the Author >>

Short Stories by the Author

No Short Stories by the Author

Books by the Author

Pleasant Day
bottom of page