Daniel Scratch

Daniel Scratch

a story of witchkind

by

Don Jones

Genre/s

Fiction, Fantasy

Publish Date

June 5, 2020

Short Description

Daniel, an orphan boy of witchkind, turns 13 and is Tested. He discovers that he's been Chosen for a special role, one that will have a lasting impact on all his people.

$2.99

or FREE with Kindle Unlimited

GET IT NOW
GET IT NOW

Description

"...Jones has created something new, compelling, beautifully written, and somewhat reminiscent of Ursula Le Guin’s A Wizard of Earthsea (1968)...An engrossing, well-written, and original story; readers will be eager for the next installment." – Kirkus Reviews

"Adult and teenage fans of thoughtful fantasy will love exploring this beautifully described world of arcane powers. This meditative look at power will engage readers who like their fantasy with a side of philosophy. Great for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin’s A Wizard of Earthsea, Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book." — BookLife Review

"This book is delightful! It's tickling my inner nerd somewhere at the intersection of 'Harry Potter,' 'Avatar: The Last Airbender,' and 'Skyrim,' all while being its own unique story and world."

"This is a delightful story - I can't wait to dive back into this world."

Thirteen year-old Daniel Scratch has been living alone for years since his parents passed, cared for by his home's tiny, elf-like brownies and his somehow-still-living great-great grandmother. But when Grandmother sends him to the village to be Tested, his life turns upside down. He's abandoned on a craggy isle, home to the Tower of Endings, and discovers he's to be the next adherent to the Sixth Axis, one of the most powerful magical forces in the world. He lives in the Tower for years, learning all the basic magics of witchkind along with the great Seven Forms of his Axis. Along the way, learns more than he ever thought possible about his people and their society, and their relationships with the far more-numerous humans of the world. His education culminates with an irreversible Choice, thrusting him into a mystery whose resolution will save all of humanity and witchkind – or doom them all to chaos and oblivion.

Book Trailer

Reviews Of The Book On BooksShelf

There are no reviews to be shown ... yet!

Don Jones

Don Jones

Click the button below to learn more about the author - other books, biography, exclusive interview and much more.