Pignon Scorbion & the Barbershop Detectives

Pignon Scorbion & the Barbershop Detectives

by

Rick Bleiweiss

Genre/s

Fiction, Historical, Mystery, Police / Detective

Publish Date

February 9, 2022

Short Description

In a reality in which all the greatest detectives lived, Dr. John Watson’s friend, eccentric Chief Inspector Pignon Scorbion deductively solves cases much like his contemporaries Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot. However, Scorbion alone solves his cases in the barbershop, aided by a colorful group of amateur sleuths - the barbers, a shoeshine man, and a young newspaper reporter - all acting as his assistant “deputies.” Witnesses, suspects and victims alike are interrogated and interviewed in the Barbershop; it is where Scorbion delights the barbers with tales of his exploits and his unique family history as well as telling them background stories relevant to the cases they work with him.

$26.00

GET IT NOW
GET IT NOW

Description

The year is 1910, and in the small and seemingly sleepy English municipality of Haxford, there’s a new chief police inspector. At first, the dapper and unflappable The year is 1910, and in the small and seemingly sleepy English municipality of Haxford, there’s a new chief police inspector. At first, the dapper and unflappable Pignon
Scorbion strikes something of an odd figure among the locals, who don’t see a need for such an exacting investigator. But it isn’t long before Haxford finds itself very much in need of a detective.

Luckily, Scorbion and the local barber are old acquaintances, and the barbershop employs a cast of memorable characters who—together with an aspiring young ace reporter for the local Morning News—are nothing less than enthralled by the enigmatic new chief police inspector.

Investigating a trio of crimes whose origins span three continents and half a century, Pignon Scorbion and his “tonsorial sleuths” interview a parade of interested parties, but with every apparent clue, new surprises come to light. And just as it seems nothing can derail Scorbion’s cool head and almost unerring nose for deduction, in walks Thelma Smith—dazzling, whip-smart, and newly single.

Has Pignon Scorbion finally met his match?

For fans of Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot, author Rick Bleiweiss’s quirky new detective and ensemble cast of characters set against the backdrop of small-town England in the 1910s, will feel both comfortingly familiar and thrillingly new.

Book Trailer

Reviews Of The Book On BooksShelf